Skip to content

(Coffee) Shop Talk

Welcome to the shop where I talk about things that go well with coffee, which is almost everything.

…but it’s why I’m doing what I’m about to do for the next year, which is become an Americorps volunteer. Because we’re all connected in the big circle of karma, and god knows I need all the good karma I can get.

There is an ultimate unity in all beings…All beings, nonhuman as well as human, participate in it. We participate in each other’s having and we participate in each other’s not-having. If we become aware of this unity of all beings, something happens. The fact that others have-not changes in every moment the character of my having: It undercuts its security, it drives me beyond myself, to understand, to give, to share, to help…The awareness that others who could have become fully developed human beings and never have, changes my state of full humanity…In every death which we encounter, something of us dies; in every disease which we encounter, something of us tends to disentigrate.

–Paul Tillich

