Skip to content

(Coffee) Shop Talk

Welcome to the shop where I talk about things that go well with coffee, which is almost everything.

I had every intention of faithfully blogging every week or so upon moving to NYC, but so far I haven’t posted so much as an uninformative haiku (which I think I did a lot when I was in London).

Sorry.

I love New York so far. My tune may change when the weather finally decides to get cold, but so far it’s been either gorgeous or hideously muggy so the change in lattitude hasn’t been an issue. I’ve pretty much settled into an apartment (still need some shelves, a chair, and a few other small things) and even though it’s pretty cramped with my four roommates and I living in a small 3-bedroom the rent is very reasonable so no one’s complaining yet.

A lot of people have asked me to clarify what exactly I’m doing here as far as a job goes. The short version is that I’m doing Americorps VISA (which you can google) and for me that mostly involves writing grant proposals for a small community organization in Southeast Brooklyn. I was pretty ambivalent about the job for awhile but it’s growing on me more and more as I get further into it. It’s a lot like writing research papers but with a very different kind of information that what I’m used to.

When I’m not at work, which is pretty often since it’s a Jewish organization and there are lots of Jewish hollidays in September and early October, I explore Manhattan and west Brooklyn or go to free/cheap music venues. I don’t do this on purpose, but when I go to get my live indie rock fix I usually find myself in extreme hipster territory, and this bothers me mildly since I’m very much not a hipster and none of my friends here are hipsters. This also makes it harder to get my friends to go with me to shows. But when I go alone I always find at least one interesting person to talk to, so it works out.

My roommate James and I found some great bluegrass in the Lower East Side (of Manhattan) last night. It was at a place called Banjo Jim’s. Yes. Banjo Jim’s. How could they not have great bluegrass? Anyway, James was doubly excited because it was a bar that served PBR, which is an elusive drink here in New York City. I don’t really care for it, but then I’ve never been to the Northwest, which is apparently where you go to get addicted and become a card-carrying member of the inexplicable cult of Pabst Blue Ribbon. I’m personally missing my Shiner, but it doesn’t exist here in the Northeast so I settled for Pabst and watched the guitar-and-washboard duo do their thing. It was a great thing, too. The guitar player was good, but I’ve never seen anyone tear up a washboard like that girl, and she had a gorgeous voice as well.

I’m sure there’s lots of other important things going on that I should post about, but none of them are coming to me at the moment. So post your questions, comments, rude remarks, or whatever, and I’ll do what I can to respond.

Cheers.

