Skip to content

(Coffee) Shop Talk

Welcome to the shop where I talk about things that go well with coffee, which is almost everything.

Everything is better in New York, especially pizza and including bad days.

I have a post from the early spring that goes into rather too much detail about a bad day I had then. Today was another exceptionally bad day, but compared to that one it was hardly a blip on the radar.

I use my cell phone for an alarm clock, and I put it on top of my chest of drawers so I have to get out of bed to turn it off. Sometimes even this doesn’t work and I climb down from my loft bed, turn off the alarm, and climb back up the ladder to dreamland as if compelled by an outside force, but there’s nothing else that comes close to working so this is what I continue to do. Anyway, today I went to tangle with the ladder without realizing that the entire right half of my body was still asleep. This only became apparent when I landed on the floor, on my back, and my still-sleeping roommate made disgruntled noises at me.

The rest of the day, in summary, went as follows:
1. left keys AND cell phone on coffee table when leaving
2. just missed every express train
3. even missed one of the slow trains
4. waited twenty minutes for a bus
5. consequently arrived at work half an hour late
6. re-arranged the format of one of the newsletter pages for the 23rd time, and the 24th time, and the 25th time, etc.
7. accidentally spent half the cash that I’d withdrawn to pay back my roommate
8. arrived at home and was relieved to see one of my other roommates standing on the stoop
9. became un-relieved upon discovering that he was standing there because he didn’t have his key, either.

There were lots of bright points, too, like one of my co-workers bringing a ginormous amazing cake for everyone in honor of her son’s bar mitzvah. Mazel tov.

I think tomorrow will be better. I think it would almost have to be…unless I weren’t in New York.

