Skip to content

(Coffee) Shop Talk

Welcome to the shop where I talk about things that go well with coffee, which is almost everything.

I think this is my biggest milestone since I got my first piece of hate mail over a year ago.

Today I officially became a successful grant writer. I got an email from the funder that the first grant that I’ve actually written is going to be awarded funding! I win money! Of course, as with almost any grant, this one could not have been written without others, and when I say that I mean that the idea for the program I was requesting funding for came from someone else entirely, and planning, editing, and general guidance from three other people accounted for at least 60-70% of the effort that went into the proposal. But I like to think that I was also a necessary part of the process.

Writing grants is really not that centered on writing. Most of what it takes to put a grant proposal together is project planning, budgeting, chasing various knowledgeable people around the office until you get the information you need, and copy/pasting from things other people have written. (A nice thing about grant writing as opposed to academic writing is the much more lenient definition of “plagiarism.”) Grantwriting isn’t a skill, it’s an ever-shifting skill set.

Anyway, enough self reflection and platitudes. In celebration of victory, I bought a six pac of Monte Python’s Holy GrAil, a very decent brand of ale whose unique flavor comes from being “tempered over burning witches.” And it’s getting very lonely over there in the refrigerator.

