Skip to content

(Coffee) Shop Talk

Welcome to the shop where I talk about things that go well with coffee, which is almost everything.

A few weeks ago I finished my certification to teach English as a foreign language. Since I live in New York City, I naturally have not found a job in my field. So I may soon be taking the route of so many unemployed Englishy people and selling my skills on the foreign market.

As it happens, the part of the foreign market that will pay the most is located in the Middle East. I’m currently talking with a recruiting agency in Saudi Arabia. My mom is currently panicking. She just sent me an article by Megan K. Stack, former Cairo Bureau Chief and current staff writer for the LA Times. I think it’s terribly ironic that my only motivation for going to a place that denies women so many freedoms we enjoy in the US is to find a higher degree of financial freedom. The country respects women enough to give them visas so they can bring Western culture, in the form of the English language, into said country, and to pay them ungodly amounts of money to do so, but not enough to let them drive or wear their professional apparel of choice in public. Doublethink, anyone?

abaya defiance

Image courtesy of http://ksvdubai.blogspot.com/2008/05/too-sexy-for-my-abaya.html via Google image search.

