Skip to content

(Coffee) Shop Talk

Welcome to the shop where I talk about things that go well with coffee, which is almost everything.

texmex_neon1
Today I had the last Mexican food that I expect to have for a long time. I could get some in the airport tomorrow, but it’s not the same.

On the bright side, it was really good. If you’re ever in Dallas, check out Mi Cocina in the Preston Forest shopping center. Get the Nachos Locos. Or anything else, really.

Further on the bright side, my diet will soon be awash in falafel and hummus. This is not new or unusual, but what is new and unusual is that I’ll soon be in the only place on earth that has more falafel, hummus, and hooka* joints than New York City: the Middle East. Specifically, Cairo.

While I’m always sad to leave the land of refried beans, endless tortilla chips, and jalapeños, I look forward to my adventures in ground chickpea and kebab.

*In Egypt and other Arabic-speaking countries, it’s called shisha, but I’m assured that it still comes in ridiculous flavors like pineapple, and that’s what really matters, right?

