Skip to content

(Coffee) Shop Talk

Welcome to the shop where I talk about things that go well with coffee, which is almost everything.

I am a big fan of my neighborhood. Lots of shops, no catcalls, and I always get a good workout traversing the obstacle course that is the sidewalks. Actually, they’re fine on my street, but on almost all the others there are patches where it’s so broken or overgrown that it’s easier and probably safer to walk on the street.

Two of the other teachers and I finally ventured onto the metro today. That was exciting. It’s quite a walk from our apartments, but it’s way, way cheaper than taking a cab (although those are pretty cheap, too), so I think we’ll use that to go into Cairo proper, which kind of far.

My apartment is ridiculously big and nice. As soon as I’m unpacked I’ll post some pictures and make everyone jealous ;-).

Yesterday I took a cab down to the Nile and walked along it for awhile. It’s very pretty, and covered with tourist-trap restaurants and hotels, which happily are also pretty. In the museum I saw a mummy of a Nile crocodile. They’re very, very big. Hopefully they do not like tourist traps.

Not too far from my apartment is a really great shisha bar and restaurant called Dunes with free internet (from which location I am posting this), so the other teachers and I go there pretty much every day to eat, drink tea, and smoke shisha (I’m told that smoking through a water pipe is much cleaner and safer than other kinds of smoking. It smells infinitely better, anyway.)

Also, for the first time in a long time, people I know live within easy walking distance of me. This is really great, and will be a hard condition to part with when I leave.

Other than hang out, go to school for orientation meetings, and the aforementioned excursions, I haven’t done much since I’ve been here. I will definitely post about further adventures.

Below are a few pictures of Dunes and the Nile (I wasn’t allowed to take pictures in the museum). Enjoy.

