Skip to content

(Coffee) Shop Talk

Welcome to the shop where I talk about things that go well with coffee, which is almost everything.

As I was walking up to my apartment building last night with my friend Chelsea, two things hit me. The first was that I’m about to be alone in the world for three weeks because all of my Cairo friends are jetting off to the four corners of the earth for break. Of course, I’m going to be alone on a sunny beach and/or a starkly beautiful desert, so don’t feel too sorry for me.

The other thing that hit me was an orange.

When Chelsea and I turned around, me bellowing in pain and her winding up to rip somebody a new one, we saw no one. This leads me inevitably to the conclusion that I have been the victim of a drive-by oranging.

When these things happen, there is always the temptation to ask, “why?” I did briefly feel this temptation, but then I remembered two things:

1. TIE. This Is Egypt. There is no “why.”

2. Egypt had just defeated Algeria in a rousing football match, and merry rioters were still at large. Of all the strange things I’ve seen merry Egyptian rioters do, this doesn’t even rank in the top 10.

Happily, the weapon of choice didn’t leave a bruise, so the only lasting damage is orange zest on my favorite only blazer. See title.

