Skip to content

(Coffee) Shop Talk

Welcome to the shop where I talk about things that go well with coffee, which is almost everything.

My second semester of library school is upon me. Working 20-ish hours a week, going to school full time, and doing an internship two days a week is always a fun way to spend a few months. It kind of hit me today just how much work I have to do just for this week, meaning just readings and short essays, no long-term projects or big papers have been started yet. It’s kind of terrifying. Two of my classes are rife with people who already seem to know what they’re doing, whereas I don’t. (Example: “Hi, my name is So-and-So, I was the studio art director at Company for ten years. This is my second career. In my old job I did a lot of *work pertinent to class topic* so I have a background in this. I’m just looking to expand my knowledge base in *obscure sub-topic that I didn’t even know about.*) Then the professor glows at them and asks a lot of lively questions I don’t understand and they both throw out a bunch of acronyms I can’t begin to guess at. Meh. I guess I’ll catch on eventually. Maybe after I finish reading and writing an essay about the seven journal articles assigned for this week…

